CofC Logo

Alumni Awards

Our 2020 Recipients


Alumni Award of Honor

2020 Recipient:
Otto B. German ’73

The Alumni Award of Honor is the highest honor awarded by the College of Charleston Alumni Association. It is presented to those individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Association or to the College. This was formerly known as the Honorary Life Membership Award. Both alumni and friends of the College are eligible for this award. 

More about Otto B. German and the Alumni Award of Honor


Distinguished Alumna or Alumnus Award

2020 Recipient:
Donnetta Lavinia Grays ’99

This award was established in 1983 to recognize those alumni who have made significant contributions to their professions or to their communities over a long period of time and thus reflecting very favorably on the College of Charleston.

More about Donnetta Lavinia Grays and the Distinguished Alumna/us Award


Alumni of the Year Award

2020 Recipient:
Ranky Tanky

This award recognizes the alumna or alumnus who has contributed significantly to his or her profession, to his or her community, or to the College during the past year.

More about Ranky Tanky and the Alumni of the Year Award


Young Alumna or Alumnus Award

2020 Recipient:
George Patrick McLeer Jr. ’10

This award recognizes an alumna or alumnus whose life has expressed the finest of CofC traditions through service to his or her community or profession. The recipient's class year must be within the past ten years.

More about GP and the Young Alumna/us Award


Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award

2020 Recipient:
Vic Howie ’83

The Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award recognizes a graduate who has made significant contributions as a business leader to industry or profession, community and alma mater, and who has exhibited great integrity in his or her business and personal life. The School of Business selects this award recipient.

More about Vic and the Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Business Person of the Year Award


Pre-Medical Society's Outstanding Service Award in Medicine

2020 Recipient:
Susan Olson Hilsman ’83 

This award is sponsored by the Alumni Association, the School of Sciences and Mathematics, and the Alpha Epsilon Delta Pre-Medical Society. The award recognizes a College of Charleston graduate whose practice of medicine, including dental, veterinary, and related medical sciences represents remarkable achievement, and who demonstrates an enduring commitment to the College and his or her community. The members of Alpha Epsilon Delta select the recipient.

Photos from the Alumni Awards Gala

Looking back: 2019

See the full Fall Alumni Weekend gallery on our facebook page »